Home   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Français

  Organization | Nominees  | Inductees | News and Events
About the Hall of Fame
Categories of Induction
Nomination and Selection
Board of Directors
Selection Committee
Board of Directors
The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame Board of Directors is comprised of interested individuals from the railway industry, and from heritage-related fields. Board members have a wide-range of experience in business and community activities. The Board of Directors assists in the over-all strategic direction related to the development of the Hall of Fame concept, and works with the Selection Committee to review, research and make recommendations on the selection of nominees to the Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame strives to provide balanced geographical representation on the Hall of Fame Board of Directors and the Selection Committee from across Canada.

 Gérald Gauthier, Chairman and President
 Shawn I. Smith, Director
 C. Stephen Cheasley, Director
 Janet Greene, Secretary and Treasurer

Gérald Gauthier, Chairman and President Montréal, Québec Gérald 

Mr. Gauthier is Director, Industry Liaison for the Railway Association of Canada (RAC). He is responsible for ensuring that the various, and sometimes conflicting, interests of the diversified members of the Association are well represented in all RAC material, particularly policy documents directed to governments.

He joined the RAC in the fall 2000, when this organization moved from Montreal to Ottawa. He quickly organized the first Canadian Short line and Regional Railway Conference, which led to the creation of the RAC Short line Committee that has been very active in promoting the interests of this sector of the industry.

Prior to joining the RAC, he worked for Canadian Pacific Railway, initially in the Québec Law Department, then their General Solicitor office and finally for their Public Affairs Department. Prior to joining the CPR, he worked for a law firm that specialized in civil and commercial law in Québec.

Mr. Gauthier holds a license in Law from the University of Sherbrooke in Québec, an MBA from L’École des Hautes Études Commerciales de Montréal, and is in good standing with members of the Québec Bar Association.

Shawn I. Smith, Director Camrose, Alberta Shawn I. Smith

Shawn I. Smith is a veteran executive in the north-American railway industry with extensive experience in railway operations, commercial development, safety management, regulatory affairs, and government relations. During the last 20 years of his career, Mr. Smith has held field operating positions, General Manager postings, and served as Vice President of a publicly-traded Canadian regional railway company, and for RailAmerica, Inc. He was actively involved in the implementation of various new regional and short line railway operations in Canada during the 1990's.

In 2001, Mr. Smith was appointed a member of the Board of Directors of the Railway Association of Canada. He also served on the Association's Safety and Operations Management Committee and the Policy Advocacy Committee. Mr. Smith is a founding member of the Canadian Railway Hall of Fame and takes a keen interest in the past, present, and future of the industry. He is a member of the American Association of Railroad Superintendents, and the Lexington Group.

In 2008 Mr. Smith joined the Strategy Department of Canadian Pacific, and is involved in strategic planning initiatives across the railway.

Mr. Smith is married to Karen and they have two boys. In addition to railroading and its trappings Mr. Smith enjoys sports, photography, and family history.

C. Stephen Cheasley, Director Montréal, Québec

C. Stephen Cheasley is the President of the Canadian Railroad Historical Association (CRHA), a non-profit corporation founded in Montreal in 1932 to preserve Canada’s railway heritage. The CRHA is the owner and operator of Exporail, the Canadian Railway Museum, Canada’s largest railway museum and is the publisher of Canadian Rail magazine and books on the history of Canada’s railways.

Mr. Cheasley retired from the firm of Fasken Martineau after a long career in the legal profession. He is currently President of the Canadian Railroad Historical Association Foundation, Chair of the John Abbott College Foundation and Vice-President of the Fonds d’investissement de Montreal which renovates low-cost housing in conjunction with Montreal community groups.

Mr. Cheasley has been active with the Montreal business community as President and Chairman of the Montreal Board of Trade, President of the Montreal International Conference Centre Inc., Treasurer and Director of Montreal International and Vice-President of the Old Port Corporation. He was Chairman of the Lakeshore General Hospital and led its campaign to expand, adding the first ambulatory health care centre in Montreal.

He is married to Janet McMichael and has four children and two grandsons

Janet Greene, Secretary and Treasurer Ottawa, Ontario

    © 2006 The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame. All registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.