Home   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Français

  Organization | Nominees  | Inductees | News and Events
News and Press Releases
back to previous page

Wednesday, May 26, 2010


Winnipeg Inducted into Canadian Railway Hall of Fame  

Railway Association of Canada President Cliff Mackay (pictured right) recently presented a commemorative plaque to Councillor Grant Nordman, St. Charles Ward, (left) recognizing the City of Winnipeg’s induction into the Canadian Railway Hall of Fame for the year 2009 in recognition of outstanding achievement as a community in the Canadian railway industry

The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame honours Canadian achievement in the railway business — specifically related to the development and ongoing role of Canada’s vibrant railway industry. It fulfills a need to recognize various technology, communities and individuals that have been instrumental in the development of this vital Canadian transportation system.

Modern day Winnipeg is an important centre for Canada's two transcontinental railways, CN and CPR, VIA Rail Canada and for short line railways, such as the Central Manitoba Railway. The city’s history of a railway centre is based on Winnipeggers’ decision in 1879 to build a major bridge over the Red River and provide station grounds for its transcontinental line. It also made Winnipeg the terminus for the CPR branch being built from Emerson on the U.S. border. Two years later, Winnipeggers provided the railway with grounds for freight yards, a divisional point and site for their railway shops. The arrival of the Northern Pacific Railway subsidiary in 1888 broke the CPR monopoly and, in 1901, laid the groundwork for the expansion of the Canadian Northern into a transcontinental line from Montreal to Vancouver. By 1915, Winnipeg was on three transcontinental railways.

The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame generally selects four members each year.

Contact Information:

    © 2006 The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame. All registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.