Home   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Français

  Organization | Nominees  | Inductees | News and Events
News and Press Releases
back to previous page

Tuesday, June 21, 2005

Press Release

Railway Hall of Fame Seeking 2005 Nominees  

The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame is seeking public nominations for leaders, heroes, communities, and technologies that helped make freight and passenger railways the backbone of the Canadian economy. Deadline for entries is August 12. Those selected will be announced in September.

“The inductions are part of a series of annual events and activities that showcase the role that freight and passenger rail plays in Canada’s economy,” said Bruce R. Burrows, Acting President and CEO of the Railway Association of Canada. The Hall of Fame was created with the support of the RAC’s 60 freight and passenger railways, communities, museums, corporate sponsors and the public at large.

To submit a name for consideration, use the form available on the Railway Hall of Fame web site and give your reasons why you believe your nominee, invention, or community deserves recognition. Additional information on the industry is available on the RAC’s website.

Former Prime Minister Sir John A. Macdonald and Ron E. Lawless of Montreal, former President and CEO of Canadian National Railway, were 2004 inductees to the Canadian Railway Hall of Fame.

Sir John A. was recognized as the driving force behind construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway — the first Canadian transcontinental. Lawless led the team that introduced domestic and, later, international containerization to CN and its freight customers, and successfully prepared the railway for privatization in the mid-nineties.

Other 2004 inductees included Airchime of Langley, B.C. in the technology category for developing railway locomotive and other sound-signal safety products for world markets since its founding in 1929.

Hall of Fame 2004 inductees in the Heroes category included Intercolonial Railway telegrapher Vince Coleman of Halifax, and retired railroader James J. Sirois of Sept-Îles, Quebec. Edmonton, Alberta, was recognized for its role in planning this year’s 100th Anniversary of the Province and the centennial of the arrival of the Canadian Northern Railway. McAdam, New Brunswick, was inducted as the historical CPR eastern transcontinental divisional point.

The virtual, web-based industry Hall of Fame was launched in 2002 with the support of the RAC’s freight and passenger railways, communities, museums, noted railway historians, corporate sponsors and the public at large. Nominations for the awards come from the public.

Contact Information:

Les Kozma
Canadian Railway Hall of Fame

Roger Cameron
Railway Association of Canada

    © 2006 The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame. All registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.