Home   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Français

  Organization | Nominees  | Inductees | News and Events
Industry Achievement
Peter Armstrong (2002)
Peter ArmstrongAs the company founder of Rocky Mountaineer Railtours, Mr. Peter Armstrong leveraged his entrepreneurial spirit, tourism experience, and dedication to lead a team of professionals in the quest to create a successful rail tour company based on a specialty train service featuring the breathtaking beauty of the Canadian Rockies.

Prior to taking on this challenge he gained valuable tourism sector experience first as a doorman at the classic railway-built Hotel Vancouver before quickly moving on to start his own bus tour company and eventually becoming president of Gray Line of Vancouver.

As president and chief executive officer of Rocky Mountaineer Railtours, Mr. Armstrong is responsible for the vision the management team and all employees strive to make reality. The track record has been excellent, as the company has enjoyed exceptional growth since its creation. His leadership has resulted in a re-engineering of specialty rail passenger service on the famous Canadian Pacific Railway route between Vancouver and Calgary, and on the Canadian Nationalís scenic"Yellowhead" route from Kamloops to Jasper.

Mr. Armstrong is known as one of the busiest people in the city of Vancouver as he contributes considerable time to public causes. He is a governor of the Council for Canadian Unity, past chair of Tourism Vancouver, chair of the Vancouver Convention Centre Expansion Task Force, vice chair of Tourism British Columbia and vice chair of Saint George’s School. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the BC Ferries, Versacold Corporation and the Working Opportunity Fund. He is a recipient of the Canadian Venture Capital Association’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award and Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award for Tourism and Hospitality.

The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame is honoured to induct Mr. Armstrong into its first annual special category for Industry achievement in 2002.

    © 2006 The Canadian Railway Hall of Fame. All registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.